Daimler Layoffs?

B-Class Electric Drive Forum

Help Support B-Class Electric Drive Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

FordAnglia

Greetings,

I drive a Mercedes Benz B250e as it fits my daily commuter needs well, the fact that it's an MB was secondary to the decision.
While I really enjoy the vehicle, I'm very new to the world of luxury vehicles and the level of care (and expense) for this Marque.

I see Daimler in my news-feed as they consider significant staff reductions. Is this a trend driven by the transition to EVs? Or, the reality of the tough Auto manufacturing business? Is Daimler in particular experiencing a miss-match between their products and market needs?

Recent headlines:

Daimler AG is reportedly considering up to 15,000 layoffs, as reported by German newspaper Handelsblatt.

The German automaker, which owns brands like Mercedes-Benz, Maybach, and Smart, had previously announced it would eliminate at least 10,000 jobs by 2022.

A Daimler spokesperson said the company is "aiming to cut a low five-digit figure of jobs worldwide by the end of 2022" as it looks to reduce roughly $1.5 billion in personnel costs.

The industry is facing tough times, with automakers announcing 80,000 planned jobs cuts in 2019.

Comments Welcome!

Peter,

I think it's Daimler coming to the realization that people (generally) aren't buying cars anymore in favor of minivans disguised as small SUV's. I expect more manufacturers to reduce or eliminate cars from their lineups like Ford has done.

I also think that we are already starting to witness a trend where next generation of millennials aren't seeing the value in shoving $30-50K (even if they had it) or a big monthly payment into a vehicle. Notice how so many cuteUV's are coming out - trying so hard to attract a younger audience?