Can I purchase an extended warranty... and should I?

B-Class Electric Drive Forum

Help Support B-Class Electric Drive Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hallcp

The used car dealer that sold me my B-Class told me the car had 4-months left of the original new car warranty. I am tempted to stop by the local M-B dealer and ask if I can buy an extended warranty.

Does anyone know whether this is an option?

And if so, does it make sense? Some of the "drivetrain" style warranties I've seen will replace an engine and a transmssion... but that's not helpful for us. I wonder if the M-B dealer folks actually know how their warranties apply to EV'.

Thanks for any advice! I've owned the car 2 days so I am a newbie.

Charles.

I don't think you can buy an extended warranty from MB but it seems to me that I was offered something from a third-party. Ask them in any case.

The battery should be on 8 year, 100K warranty and the thing that seems to have cropped up is the electric motor at the 40K+ mark or five year mark. This is covered by the 4 year warranty on all but battery.

With a four year old car, even a Mercedes, consider buying an extended warranty as parts are going to be harder to come by. That is likely not to be factored in yet by the third parties.

Let us know what you find. I am going to turn in my 2017 at the end of 2019.

I visited my local M-B dealer today and here's what he said... if the vehicle was purchased as a Certified Pre-Owned (CPO) car from a Mercedes dealer, then you would be eligible to sign up extended warranty coverage as follows:

5-yr 75,000 miles $2185
5-yr 100,000 miles $2702
6-yr 75,000 miles $2415
6-yr 100,000 miles $2990
7-yr 75,000 miles $2760
7-yr 100,000 miles $3852