Help Fixing rear turn signals to blink amber ?

B-Class Electric Drive Forum

Help Support B-Class Electric Drive Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mimark

I had noticed, much to my dismay, that our US spec car has red rear turn signals.
I scoured through videos of European spec cars, and finally found one brief shot of the rear making a turn with the amber light. Went outside to look at the tail lights today, and sure enough, all of the amber LEDs are right there, just itching to be used to safely indicate turn intent.
My Audi A6 had the same problem, for which there were a few forums describing the fix. Ten minutes popping Amber bulbs into the blank sockets, and a quick vag-com code rewrite to turn on the Rest of World lighting configuration, and the car is once again safe to drive.
I can only assume that this can be easily done on the Benz also, but I'm new to the MB arena, and have no idea of the equivalent code tools. All I've turned up so far are $5k systems.
Anybody know how to code these things for a reasonable price?

I haven't found anyone (so far) that has a VAG-com equivalent cable for our cars, and I'm not holding my breath that one will ever exist. Have you gone to your local Mercedes dealer and asked if they can program the lights for you?

I thought MB sold a B-class gasoline version in Canada. Any chance the parts are compatible?

Other than the battery / powertrain...it is the same car that's sold in Canada. That said, there is "gateway" software that allows the Tesla electronics communicate with the Mercedes electronics. Personally, I wouldn't risk programming or coding anything through the OBD2 port with an aftermarket diagnostic scanner. If the rear taillights are re-programmable, I'm sure your authorized Mercedes dealer would be happy to oblige (for a price of course).