Can't charge?

B-Class Electric Drive Forum

Help Support B-Class Electric Drive Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lukeetal

We got our B class three days ago so I am new at this but not a novice by any means. I am electrician so I installed our Seimens 30amp charger last night. Everything went great and quickly. After just over 2 hours the car was full charged. So today we went on a outing that included a chargepoint. I started the charge and confirmed that the charger was connected and we went shopping. 2 hours later and the charge didn't charge. Wierd but I must have done something wrong, right? We get home and the same thing.. Car shows a connected but not charging. I do a bit of troubleshooting and try going back to the level 1 charger to no avail. I call support using the ibutton but there best suggestion was drive a bit and try again. If that fails it's time for a tow. So I went to a charging station I have used before.. Same issue. Connects but doesn't charge. Call again wondering if there is anything I can do and they say have it towed.

Big questions are:
1) what caused this? Faulty wiring at charge point?
2) how can I prevent this from happening again?
3) anything I can do before Monday to fix?
4) suggestions on how not to totally loose my mind freaking out all weekend would be great!

Thank you in advanced!

The charger is supplied by Tesla. On the RAV4 EV forum there have been a few users with charger problems. About the only thing you can try is removing 12V power for a minute to clear any errors. THIS ALSO CLEARS THE SERVICE CODES!